Do you hold a medical card for Arizona and wonder how much pot is legal for you to possess?
The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) states that you can possess and use 2.5 ounces of marijuana if you hold a medical marijuana card. Cardholders still have to abide by stringent regulations about which locations within the state are legal to use.
In 2010, the voters of the state passed the Arizona Medical Marijuana Acts, which made medical marijuana use legal. This law gives patients suffering from debilitating conditions such as cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, post-traumatic stress disorder, severe nausea, or severe chronic pain the ability to legally own and consume no more than 2.5 ounces of cannabis every two weeks.
The rights to become a cardholder begins with applying to the ADHS, where they determine whether or not you warrant cardholder status.
Medical Marijuana Limitations on Use and Possession
Cardholders are forbidden to smoke in any public space, which includes licensed marijuana dispensaries, bars, parks, schools, colleges, bus stations, or any public transportation.
Cardholders who are qualified can legally consume marijuana edibles in public spaces. Holders who choose to smoke cannabis must do so only in private.
Driving under the influence of marijuana is still illegal, whether you hold an Arizona medical marijuana card or not.
The 2.5 ounces of cannabis a medical cardholder can possess renews every two weeks. Users possessing more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana will be placed under arrest and charged with a crime. Any use of edibles counts toward the 2.5-ounce restrictions, but only the marijuana portion of the edible counts towards the total.
Lastly, it’s against the law for cardholders to buy marijuana to distribute to or purchase for any friends or family.
To avoid the need to hire an Arizona criminal defense attorney with experience in drug-related crimes, follow all laws on medical marijuana use and possession. Remember that any amount of use or possession of cannabis on a non-cardholder carries penalties that include time in jail.
Possession of Medical Marijuana and the Law
Cardholders who are pulled over for traffic violations and have under 2.5 ounces of pot in the car are safe from arrest. If the police determine you are driving while stoned at the time, then they can arrest you since that is a crime in the state of Arizona.
Another area of contention is with employers or landlords. Both are unable to take adverse actions against you solely based on your having cardholder status.
As a cardholder, you can legally purchase your allotted bi-weekly 2.5 ounces from any licensed dispensary within the state.
Marijuana Cultivation and the Law
Cardholders can legally grow up to 12 marijuana plants at their residence if they live farther than 25 miles away from any dispensary. Still, they must first apply and get approval from the ADHS. The plants must be grown in an enclosed space that can be locked and only provide access to the cardholder.
Non-Cardholder Possession and Use
For all non-cardholding Arizona residents, marijuana possession is a crime, punishable with prison time from six months on up to 10 years and fines up to $150,000.
Obey the laws of the state. If not, you will need to speak with an attorney, so contact us today for a free legal consultation.